A breakup playlist

I like to listen to what my ex husband would call “sad bastard music” post-breakup. It helps me work through my feelings. Here are some songs that seem to be pressing up against all the bruises on my heart in just the right way lately:

This has been stuck in my head for a week or two now.

This song randomly popped into my head last night on an endless loop. I don’t think I’ve heard it since it used to play on the sound system at my old office job.

This was playing in a store I went to recently and it gave me all the feels.

For this one it’s really more the memory of the video that does it for me. The two of them alternately advancing and retreating, attacking and running…her mistrust, his longing (I’m identifying with both of them at once btw)…but the first line of the song certainly smacks me upside the head as well.

Well shit, just finding this video and hearing the opening bars has made me start crying. Wooooo!

This captures the last gasp of a relationship pretty well.

Because fuck you, that’s why.

…Although he didn’t apologize, actually…

I do intend on being friends with him, probably, eventually. But I think he’s hoping we can basically keep going exactly as we have been (sex included) except without me having any expectations of him, and call that friendship. Um. No.

I think that’s enough for now.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

