A new face

My face has been broken out to one degree or another for years now. Red and bumpy along my cheekbones and jawline. I assumed it was due to food sensitivities. I even went to a dietician to try to figure out what food might be causing it.

Then The Pedant suggested it might be a condition called rosacea.

“I thought rosacea was broken capillaries under the skin making someone’s face look red,” I said.

“Yeah, but that’s just one symptom. It can also take the form of breakouts.”

I did some Googling and he’s right. And when I talked to my doctor about it she asked if I tend to get really flushed when I’m too hot and I was like “HOLY SHIT IS THAT A SYMPTOM TOO?!?” and she said yeah and I was like “THAT EXPLAINS SO MUCH.”

She prescribed me some cream that has antibiotics in it (and cost $50 for a month’s supply…yikes!). I’ve been using it for about a week now and YOU GUISE OMG OMG MY FACE FEELS LIKE IT’S MADE OF SKIN AGAIN. I’d been so used to parts of it having a sort of scaly texture that I’d forgotten it was possible for a human face to feel any other way. I keep running my fingertips over my cheeks. I’m not perfectly smooth yet, but almost. And the afflicted areas are less red, too.

Also, my face doesn’t sting and feel too tight anymore. That had been going on for so long that it was kind of a constant background noise; something I tried to ignore but it was still there, bugging me. Now it’s gone and I’m just so relieved I can’t even tell you.

My self-esteem had been flagging for a while due to my face being messed up (it was really quite red in some places. Not red like when you blush; not an under-the-skin red. I mean a zillion pinpoints of blood red. And also bumps with pus in them). The knowledge that I looked poxed was also a constant background noise in my head that I tried to ignore but couldn’t. But now I look almost normal again. And I’m shocked at how nice my skin feels. I’d assumed it was chronically dry, probably due to me getting older, but it turns out it just felt rough and had white flaky bits because of the rosacea. Now my cheeks feel satiny-smooth and healthy to me in-between the few remaining bumps.

Nobody’s been exactly beating down my door for pro domme services lately but if an opportunity comes up, I might not have to spackle my entire face with four layers of foundation in order to look presentable. Yay!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

