A nice little heteronormative ritual.

By the way, when I woke up this morning (okay, afternoon), The Pedant had sent me a text that said “Nice seeing you last night. :)”  I squeed out loud.

I dunno…I guess I tend to assume he doesn’t think about me when I’m not around, and that even when he’s with me it’s because he’s bored and has nothing else to do, not because he actually digs me or anything…and his texts to me in-between visits are almost always pure business (asking me when I’m free next or whether he left his lint brush at my apartment, never the kind of “here’s how my day is going/a hilarious thing just happened” stuff that I’ll often send to him, and never anything indicating he misses me or lusts after me) so this text made me happy on many levels.

…Jeez, my bar is set low. 😛

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “A nice little heteronormative ritual.

  1. Fnord

    Don’t think of it as having a low bar. Think of it as taking pleasure in the small joys of life :).

  2. gingernic

    Nah, that’s not a low bar. He enjoyed seeing you. He felt comfortable letting you know. Both of these are “squee”worthy, especially given that you’re in a situation where you aren’t sure what the nature of your relationship is or whether you and he want the same thing out of it. (which, ugh. Is there a not-scary way out of that confusion?) Getting a sweet text just because is a little bit of affirmation that at least there’s something there, so yay!

    • I’m happy you get where I’m coming from with this. 🙂

      I guess I’m just thinking that the “morning-after text” is pretty traditional and most people probably expect it the day after a date. And here I am reduced to squees because I’m so unused to that fairly basic level of attention.

  3. I guess I tend to assume he doesn’t think about me when I’m not around, and that even when he’s with me it’s because he’s bored and has nothing else to do, not because he actually digs me or anything
    Wow – I get this exact same effect. I’ve never seen someone else put into into words before.

  4. Pingback: Amazing Pedant is amazing – part I | hiding in plain sight

Leave a Reply

