ARRRRRGH.

I just turned down eight weeks of modelling work (a class every Monday afternoon) because I had a preexisting job on two of those days.

Maybe that’s stupid.  Maybe I should’ve told the other school I couldn’t make it and to find a replacement for me.  But the other school is one that’s given me a lot of work in the past, not to mention a fantastically useful coaching session on how to pose better.  I feel like it’s better, in the end, to establish myself as a reliable, never-cancelling person with this loved and trusted school than to bail on them for someplace I’ve never actually worked before.  The devil you know, etc., etc.

Shit.  I hope I did the right thing.

The guy from the new (to me) school didn’t seem put off by my decline, though; when I asked him to call me if he has anything else for me, he said he would and his tone sounded sincere.  He mentioned to me that someone had said I was really good (Awww.  I wonder which of my references that was?)

He also asked if I could recommend anyone, and said they could be male or female, so I told him I’d ask Doug to call.  Doug got sick the other day and couldn’t work (at the school both of us pose for) and I was the first one he offered his shift to, so I’m returning the favour (and hoping to establish a pattern where we vouch for each other and give each other work.  Yay networking!)

And that’s been my day so far.

I don’t suppose any of my readers coordinates life models and can tell me whether I made the right call?  Maybe it’s totally commonplace for a model to cancel a class because they were offered something better and longer-term.  Maybe everyone in the industry knows it happens and it’s not a big deal.  I just really don’t wanna establish a bad reputation, especially with that one school because I love them.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “ARRRRRGH.

  1. For an 8 week modeling gig where you’d only miss two weeks, it’s probably worth saying something to the effect of “I’d love to take this job, but I have pre-existing commitments on two of the days, would it be possible for me to take the job and help you find a replacement for the days I’ll miss?” There may be a reason they’d need the same model every day for 8 weeks, but then again, maybe they just want to make sure ahead of time that they have someone, even if it isn’t the same person. It’s probably worth asking, if the situation comes up again.

  2. Oh, and I forgot to say, turning the gig down right now shouldn’t be a big deal, so don’t worry too much. Even if there are particular models that professors may favor, they do usually want to get a variety of models for their classes so the students have different body types to draw/paint (I say this from my experience as a former art student). There’s a good chance that guy was sincere when he said he’d call you if something else came up.

  3. Fnord

    I don’t know if it’s the absolute best thing, on balance (and Sunskimmer may have some good advice). But establishing a reputation for reliability is certainly not wasted effort. Did you tell the people you turned down that you were doing so because of a pre-existing modeling commitment?

  4. Pingback: Sisyphus (zombie edition) | hiding in plain sight

Leave a Reply

