Written in the stars.

I don’t care what anyone says – I’ve found the personality profiles of the various astrological signs to be pretty spookily accurate most of the time.

So – smitten by The Pedant as I am these days – I decided to Google the compatibility of Aries and Taurus people (I’m the Aries, he’s the Taurus).

Highlights:

Taurus is sensual, patient and gentle. Aries is attracted to these qualities; Aries sees Taurus as their rock, totally stable and loyal forever.

I don’t think I trust anyone enough to throw around the word “forever,” but I’ve definitely observed and appreciated the fact that The Pedant  has stuck with me so long – a year and a half of being my makeout-buddy-on-the-side during my last relationship, people! – and I’ve begun to realize he’s probably not bailing anytime soon.  I’ve also noticed that in his own subtle way, he looks after his other friends, too.  He’s always making Facebook posts alerting people to stuff they might be interested in or that might help them.

Taurus sees Aries as possessing that quality they want more of — knowing when and how to grab on to life’s opportunities. These Signs are a good balance for each other.

I can’t say for sure whether I’m more impulsive or likely to “grab life’s opportunities” than The Pedant.  Oh, wait, I quit my job to be an artist and he’s been working at various call centres while putting his dreams of writing on hold.  So there’s that.  And I was a lot more blatant and direct in hitting on him than he was in hitting on me.

When Aries wants instant gratification, Taurus can show just how sexy and sensual slow, deliberate movement can be.

A-fucking-men to this!  The Pedant has made me realize that, when left to my own devices, I tend more toward fast-but-intense sex.  The first time or two that he came over, I felt like I was gunning my engines in neutral because his pace is so…much…slower.  He told me ages ago that he loves to stretch out sexytimes for hours and hours, if not all day long…I thought he was just saying that because he thought it’s what chicks like to hear, but it appears not.  

Marathon sex turns out to be pretty awesome, if I have the patience for it.  I’ve started deliberately putting myself in a whole different, slower headspace when The Pedant is here so that I can properly enjoy him.

Aries is ruled by the Planet Mars (passion), and Taurus is ruled by the Planet Venus (love). Venus and Mars go well together; they represent the two necessary halves of the same relationship coin. The symbols are universally recognized as masculine and feminine, so this relationship is a good balance of these energies.

Did you catch that?  I’m the boy and he’s the girl. 😀

Both Signs want to be the leader in the relationship, so compromise is essential.

Yup.  I definitely am a brash leader type (the social anxiety is not my personality, it’s a thing that covers up my personality.  Peel up a corner of my crippling shyness and underneath I’m pure Bossy McBossington) and The Pedant, as I have mentioned many times, is an arrogant pain in my ass.  I think it’s the struggle to best him that keeps me turned on, actually. 😛

Tidbits from a different site:

The Taurus man is likely to be sexually straightforward, and generally not interested in fantasies, role playing or talking dirty.

 

This seems about right.  The Pedant has a kink for being tied up, and possibly a kink for submitting to me, but I’m certain if I suggested a roleplay scenario for us, he wouldn’t see the point.  He doesn’t even like lingerie on a woman; he thinks it’s ridiculous and unnecessary.  

And hey, this explains why he never initiates sexting, and responds to my sexts the way he does – generally, by gently acknowledging what I said but not taking it any further.  Example: I texted him that I wanted to tie him to my bed and use him as my personal sex toy for an entire day, and he responded “Nice to see I’ve got your imagination working. :)”

Taurus is the most sensual of all the signs, and if anyone can make your skin feel good it’s a Taurus man!

Oh hell yeah.  Remember the time we abstained from sex because he had a cold sore so he caressed me all over for six hours straight instead?

 …Typically a gentle and tender lover, his relative shyness for experimenting in the bedroom also makes it that much more fun to try and corrupt him!

Yup. 😀

Very romantic and loyal, the Taurus man will enjoy sharing what he has with a lover, and will go to extremes to keep that person happy. 

I can’t say that he’s gone to “extremes,” but he’s certainly gone above and beyond what most suitors have done for me.  See: my bullet list of sweet things he did during our last get-together.

On the negative side, as with all aspects of his life the Taurus man values security above all else, and in a relationship this can manifest as possessiveness and jealousy if his lady has a roving eye. 

Not that long ago, I would have disagreed that this is true of The Pedant; his philosophy is that monogamy is an unrealistic expectation of people, and “people” includes me.  Also, he doesn’t seem to wince or anything if I ogle another dude or mention someone else I’m seeing in conversation.  

But here’s a fascinating thing: just recently I asked him if he’d ever consider being in an MMF threesome – not interacting with the other guy at all, just pleasing the F (who would be me, if it’s not clear why I was asking :D).  And The Pedant said that seeing a partner of his with another guy totally turns him off.  He said that he once saw a casual fling of his kissing someone else, and then she came up to him and wanted to make out with him, too, and he couldn’t do it.  

Now, the turn-off factor doesn’t appear to be permanent; he invited Minx and I to his last birthday ‘do and saw us interacting as a couple, and it didn’t cool his ardor.  But it does appear that The Pedant has a possessive side.

From yet another site: 

The impulsive Aries sets off alarms in the more cautious Taurus. The Bull may sense (sometimes rightly) that Aries is in love with novelty, and that’s intoxicating when it’s You that’s the new thing. But the security minded Taurus is wary of being the belle or garçon du jour.

I am indeed in love with novelty.  And it seems feasible that The Pedant was hanging back a bit at first, while I was thinking of him as my fun new shiny thing on the side…but things seem to have stabilized a bit, now that Minx is out of the picture.  I’m focusing more of my attention on building a relationship (or…something) with The Pedant.  We’re seeing each other more often, he’s being way more openly mushy (i.e. the nature of his cuddling seems to be changing and includes a lot more hand-squeezing and face-caressing)…it’s nice.

If Taurus pulls back, this will only stoke the fires of the hot-natured Aries. As we all know, Aries loves a good chase! If they take up the challenge, Aries will seek to demonstrate their love, and in the very acts of proving worthy, something solid takes shape.

SPOOKILY.  ACCURATE.  Whenever he’s not actually in my apartment, The Pedant acts aloof; he rarely contacts me and when he does, his tone is breezy and friendly, not lovey-dovey.  Which does inflame my urge to chase, big time.  I restrain myself from being too much of a clingy idiot, but yeah…I’m pursuing him.  Actively.  And putting effort into making him feel appreciated.

It’s nice to read that Tauruses are so into stability.  I am, too – I may identify as poly but it doesn’t mean I want to have a bunch of flighty little relationships; I do prefer to have at least one long-standing, dependable partner in my life.  Another common factor in all this astrological stuff I’m reading is that Tauruses like to be wooed…so it’s a good thing I’ve started slowing down and engaging in foreplay with him instead of just being like “SEX!  NOW!” like I usually do. 😀

Sigh.  Smitten Girl is smitten.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

