Tiny increments of progress

I used to make and sell jewellery, so I have shitloads of beads and jewellery findings that I haven’t touched in years.  It was painful to consider giving them up (I’m a bit of a hoarder and there’s some nice stuff in there) but I finally had to admit to myself that I’m probably never gonna use this shit again.  High School Friend dabbles in jewellery-making and we hung out this evening for a bit, so I gave her all my cast-offs – two grocery bags full of stuff.  Some of it is shitty little plastic seed beads that you’d probably only use for a kids’ craft project, but there were some Swarovski crystals and semi-precious stones in there, too, and lots of pretty glass beads of various shapes and sizes.

Could I have sold this stuff instead of giving it away?  Probably.  But the selling process would’ve been a gigantic pain in the ass, and HSF is generous with me (offering to drive me to and from my craft fairs, buying me dinner tonight) so I should be generous with her, too.

And now that the stuff is out of my house, I feel really good to be rid of it.  It’s stupid to keep piles and piles of stuff around on the off chance that I might need it someday, because I probably won’t – and even if I do suddenly think of a use for some of the items I just gave away, I can go out and buy more.  The stuff I gave HSF was nice, but none of it was one-of-a-kind.

In future, I’ll think of a jewellery idea first and then purchase the materials to make it happen.  I won’t buy pretty shiny beads with no particular ideas in mind, figuring I might get inspired later.  THAT WAY LIES MADNESS.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Tiny increments of progress

  1. Juuuuulia

    I feel like you might like this link at this time: http://lesswrong.com/lw/fc3/checklist_of_rationality_habits/

Leave a Reply

